Costco Chicken Bake Nutrition Facts: Frozen vs Food Court 2026
A Costco chicken bake contains between 540 and 840 calories depending on which version you buy. The frozen Kirkland Signature version has 540 calories per bake, while the hot food court version contains 770 to 840 calories. This 200 to 300 calorie difference matters for anyone tracking their daily intake.
Costco sells over 100 million chicken bakes annually across its warehouses. The item combines chicken, bacon, Caesar dressing, and cheese wrapped in a crispy dough. According to FatSecret’s nutritional database, a single frozen chicken bake (227g) provides 35 grams of protein but also packs 1,370 milligrams of sodium . The food court version goes even higher on both counts.
This guide breaks down every nutrition number for both versions of the Costco chicken bake. You will learn exact calories, protein, fat, carbs, and sodium per serving. You will also discover which version fits your health goals and when to choose one over the other.
Costco Chicken Bake Nutrition Facts
The Costco chicken bake nutrition facts differ significantly between the frozen and food court versions. The table below shows the complete nutritional profile for both, based on data from FatSecret and Eat This Much .

| Nutrient | Frozen Version (227g) | Food Court Version (363g) |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 540 | 769-770 |
| Protein | 35g | 61g |
| Total Fat | 19g | 25g |
| Saturated Fat | 6g | 9g |
| Trans Fat | 0g | 0.5g |
| Carbohydrates | 58g | 78g |
| Fiber | 3g | 2g |
| Sugar | 7g | 6g |
| Cholesterol | 70mg | 115mg |
| Sodium | 1,370mg | 2,310mg |
| Calcium | 400mg (31% DV) | 400mg (40% DV) |
| Iron | 5mg (28% DV) | Not specified |
| Potassium | 407mg (9% DV) | Not specified |
The frozen version is smaller (227g vs 363g) and contains green onions, which the food court version lacks . The food court version has a crispier crust and more browned Parmesan cheese on top.
Key Takeaway: The frozen chicken bake has 540 calories and 1,370mg sodium. The food court version has 770 calories and 2,310mg sodium. Choose frozen for significantly lower calories and sodium.
Chicken Bake Nutrition Facts
The chicken bake is a high protein, high carbohydrate menu item with moderate to high fat content. The macronutrient breakdown shows where the calories come from.
Frozen Chicken Bake (227g) macro breakdown:
- Protein: 35g (26% of calories)
- Carbohydrates: 58g (43% of calories)
- Fat: 19g (31% of calories)
Food Court Chicken Bake (363g) macro breakdown:
- Protein: 61g (31% of calories)
- Carbohydrates: 78g (40% of calories)
- Fat: 25g (29% of calories)
Data sourced from FatSecret and Eat This Much .
The food court version provides 61g of protein in a single serving. That exceeds the daily protein requirement for a sedentary 70kg (154lb) adult, which is 56g per the RDA . A registered dietitian quoted in a Chinese nutrition publication noted that chicken bake contains more protein than Costco’s pizza or hot dog options, which helps with satiety .
The carbohydrate count is substantial in both versions. The frozen version has 58g carbs (equivalent to about 4 slices of bread). The food court version has 78g carbs (about 5.5 slices of bread). These carbs come primarily from the dough wrapping.
Key Takeaway: Both versions are protein heavy, with the food court version delivering 61g per serving. However, the carb counts are equally high, making this a balanced (but calorie dense) macro profile.
Chicken Bake Nutrition Facts Costco
The nutrition facts for Costco’s chicken bake vary by source because of differences between product lines. Here is a consolidated reference for both versions.
Frozen Kirkland Signature Chicken Bake (per 227g bake):
- Calories: 540
- Total Fat: 19g (Saturated: 6g)
- Cholesterol: 70mg
- Sodium: 1,370mg
- Total Carbs: 58g (Fiber: 3g, Sugar: 7g)
- Protein: 35g
- Calcium: 400mg (31% DV)
- Iron: 5mg (28% DV)
- Potassium: 407mg (9% DV)
Source: FatSecret nutritional database
Food Court Chicken Bake (per 363g bake):
- Calories: 769
- Total Fat: 25g (Saturated: 9g, Trans: 0.5g)
- Cholesterol: 115mg
- Sodium: 2,310mg
- Total Carbs: 78g (Fiber: 2g, Sugar: 6g)
- Protein: 61g
- Calcium: 400mg (40% DV)
Source: Eat This Much database
The food court version’s 0.5g of trans fat comes from the frying or baking process. The American Heart Association recommends avoiding trans fats entirely, as they raise bad cholesterol and lower good cholesterol.
The calcium content is notable in both versions. At 400mg per serving, a chicken bake provides 31-40% of the daily recommended calcium intake for adults (1,000-1,200mg per NIH guidelines).
Key Takeaway: Both versions provide significant calcium (400mg) and iron (frozen version 5mg). The food court version contains 0.5g trans fat, which is a health concern.
Costco Food Court Chicken Bake Nutrition Facts
The hot food court chicken bake is the version most people know. It is prepared fresh in Costco’s food court and served hot in a paper sleeve. According to Eat This Much, a single food court chicken bake contains 769 calories with the following breakdown :
| Nutrient | Amount | % Daily Value (2,000 calorie diet) |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 769 | 38% |
| Total Fat | 25g | 32% |
| Saturated Fat | 9g | 45% |
| Trans Fat | 0.5g | — |
| Cholesterol | 115mg | 38% |
| Sodium | 2,310mg | 100% |
| Total Carbs | 78g | 28% |
| Fiber | 2g | 7% |
| Sugar | 6g | — |
| Protein | 61g | 122% |
| Calcium | 400mg | 40% |
A Yahoo Finance analysis from 2018 confirmed similar numbers: 770 calories, 230 calories from fat, 9g saturated fat, and 2,310mg sodium . The food court chicken bake has not changed significantly since then.
The sodium content is the most concerning number. A single chicken bake contains 2,310mg of sodium. The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend limiting sodium to 2,300mg per day. One chicken bake exceeds the entire daily limit before you eat anything else.
For comparison, a Costco hot dog with bun has 1,750mg sodium, and a slice of cheese pizza has about 1,500mg . The chicken bake is the highest sodium item on the food court menu.
Key Takeaway: The food court chicken bake provides 61g protein (122% DV) but also delivers 100% of your daily sodium allowance in a single serving. People with high blood pressure should avoid it or split it into multiple meals.
Chicken Bake Costco Nutrition Facts
The chicken bake from Costco’s frozen aisle has a dramatically different nutritional profile from the food court version. Here are the complete nutrition facts for the Kirkland Signature frozen chicken bake .
Full Nutrition Panel for Frozen Chicken Bake (227g):
| Nutrient | Amount | % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 540 | 27% |
| Total Fat | 19g | 24% |
| Saturated Fat | 6g | 30% |
| Trans Fat | 0g | 0% |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4g | — |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 11g | — |
| Cholesterol | 70mg | 23% |
| Sodium | 1,370mg | 60% |
| Total Carbohydrates | 58g | 21% |
| Dietary Fiber | 3g | 11% |
| Sugars | 7g | — |
| Includes Added Sugars | 2g | 4% |
| Protein | 35g | 70% |
| Vitamin D | 0mcg | 0% |
| Calcium | 400mg | 31% |
| Iron | 5mg | 28% |
| Potassium | 407mg | 9% |
The frozen version is smaller (227g vs 363g) and contains green onions, which the food court version does not have . The green onions add fiber and a small amount of vitamins.
The sodium content, while still high at 1,370mg (60% DV), is significantly lower than the food court’s 2,310mg. A person limiting sodium to 2,300mg daily could eat a frozen chicken bake and still have 930mg left for other meals.
The iron content is notable. At 5mg per serving (28% DV for adults, 28% for men, but lower for premenopausal women), the frozen chicken bake provides a meaningful contribution to daily iron needs.
Key Takeaway: The frozen chicken bake has 540 calories, 35g protein, and 1,370mg sodium. It is a better choice than the food court version for anyone watching calories or sodium.
Nutrition Facts Costco Chicken Bake
When comparing the nutrition facts across all available data sources, a clear pattern emerges. The frozen and food court versions are different products with different nutritional profiles.
Side by side comparison of all available data:
| Source | Version | Weight | Calories | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FatSecret | Frozen | 227g | 540 | 35g | 19g | 58g | 1,370mg |
| Eat This Much | Food Court | 363g | 769 | 61g | 25g | 78g | 2,310mg |
| Yahoo Finance (2018) | Food Court | ~363g | 770 | ~46g | ~30g | ~78g | 2,310mg |
| Chowhound (2025) | Food Court | ~363g | 840 | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Chowhound (2025) | Frozen | 227g | 540 | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Chinese Nutritionist | Food Court | ~363g | 770 | 46g | 27g | 81g | 2,250-2,320mg |
Data compiled from multiple sources .
The variation in protein numbers (46g vs 61g) likely reflects differences in ingredient sourcing or preparation. The Chinese nutritionist source reported 46g protein, while Eat This Much reported 61g . Both agree on calories (approximately 770) and sodium (approximately 2,300mg).
The 840 calorie figure from Chowhound may represent a particularly large preparation or an older recipe . For planning purposes, use 770 calories as the standard food court value.
Quick Tip: If you want the most accurate numbers for your specific Costco, check the in store nutrition placard. Some locations post full nutrition information at the food court counter.
Key Takeaway: Multiple data sources agree on approximately 770 calories and 2,300mg sodium for the food court chicken bake. The frozen version consistently shows 540 calories and 1,370mg sodium.
Costco Chicken Bake Calories
The calories in a Costco chicken bake range from 540 to 840 depending on which version you buy and how it is prepared.
Calorie breakdown by version:
- Frozen Kirkland Signature (227g): 540 calories
- Food court hot prepared (363g): 769-770 calories
- Food court (Chowhound estimate): 840 calories
According to Chowhound, some shoppers report that food court chicken bakes have gotten smaller in recent years . This means calorie counts may have decreased from older estimates.
To put 540 calories in perspective:
- One frozen chicken bake = 2.7 slices of Costco cheese pizza (200 calories each)
- One frozen chicken bake = 0.7 of a food court chicken bake
- One frozen chicken bake = one large avocado (322 calories) plus a cup of quinoa (222 calories)
To put 770 calories in perspective:
- One food court chicken bake = 1.4 times a McDonald’s Big Mac (590 calories)
- One food court chicken bake = an entire day’s calorie budget for someone on a very low calorie diet (800 calories)
- One food court chicken bake = 16% of a 2,000 calorie diet
The calorie density is high in both versions because of the dough and cheese. The frozen version has 2.38 calories per gram. The food court version has 2.12 calories per gram. Both are calorie dense compared to whole foods like vegetables (0.4-0.8 cal/g) or lean meats (1.5 cal/g).
Key Takeaway: A frozen chicken bake has 540 calories. A food court chicken bake has 770 calories. That 230 calorie difference is equivalent to a 2 mile walk for most people.
Costco Chicken Bake Protein
The Costco chicken bake is a protein heavy menu item. The food court version delivers an impressive 61 grams of protein per serving, while the frozen version provides 35 grams.
Protein content by version:
- Frozen chicken bake: 35g protein
- Food court chicken bake: 46-61g protein (varies by source)
Data from FatSecret and Eat This Much .
The recommended dietary allowance (RDA) for protein is 0.8 grams per kilogram of body weight. For a 70kg (154lb) adult, that is 56g per day. A single food court chicken bake exceeds this requirement completely. The frozen version provides 63% of the daily requirement.
A registered dietitian quoted in a Chinese publication noted that the chicken bake has more protein than Costco’s pizza or hot dog options, which helps with feeling full and satisfied after eating .
Protein comparison to other Costco food court items:
- Chicken bake: 61g protein
- All beef hot dog: 24g protein
- Cheese pizza slice: approximately 20g protein
- Frozen chicken bake: 35g protein
The protein in a chicken bake comes from three sources: chicken breast (primary), cheese (mozzarella and Parmesan), and bacon bits. The combination of these proteins provides a complete amino acid profile.
For athletes or bodybuilders, the 61g of protein in a food court chicken bake represents an entire post workout meal. The American College of Sports Medicine recommends 20-40g of protein after resistance training for muscle protein synthesis. One chicken bake exceeds the upper end of that recommendation.
Key Takeaway: The food court chicken bake delivers 61g protein (109% DV for a 70kg adult). The frozen version delivers 35g protein (63% DV). Both are excellent protein sources.
Costco Chicken Bake Sodium
The sodium content is the most concerning nutritional aspect of the Costco chicken bake. The food court version contains 2,310mg of sodium per serving, which equals 100% of the daily recommended limit.
Sodium by version:
- Frozen chicken bake: 1,370mg (60% DV)
- Food court chicken bake: 2,310mg (100% DV)
The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend limiting sodium to 2,300mg per day. The American Heart Association recommends an ideal limit of 1,500mg per day for most adults, especially those with high blood pressure.
A single food court chicken bake exceeds both recommendations. It uses your entire day’s sodium allowance in one item.
Sodium comparison to other foods:
- Food court chicken bake: 2,310mg sodium
- Costco hot dog with bun: 1,750mg sodium
- Costco slice of cheese pizza: approximately 1,500mg sodium
- Frozen chicken bake: 1,370mg sodium
- Recommended daily limit: 2,300mg
The high sodium comes from multiple ingredients: the chicken (likely brined), bacon (cured with salt), Caesar dressing (contains salt and Parmesan cheese, which is salty), and the dough (contains salt).
People with hypertension, heart disease, kidney disease, or congestive heart failure should avoid the food court chicken bake entirely. The frozen version, while still high at 1,370mg, leaves some room in a 2,300mg daily budget.
Quick Tip: If you eat a food court chicken bake, drink extra water afterward to help your kidneys process the sodium. Avoid adding salt to any other meals that day.
Key Takeaway: The food court chicken bake contains 2,310mg sodium, an entire day’s worth. The frozen version has 1,370mg sodium (60% DV). People with high blood pressure should choose the frozen version or split the food court version across two meals.
Costco Chicken Bake Carbs
The Costco chicken bake is high in carbohydrates due to the dough wrapping. Both versions contain between 58 and 78 grams of carbohydrates per serving.
Carbohydrate content by version:
- Frozen chicken bake: 58g total carbs (3g fiber, 7g sugar)
- Food court chicken bake: 78g total carbs (2g fiber, 6g sugar)
The net carbs (total carbs minus fiber) are 55g for the frozen version and 76g for the food court version.
To put these numbers in perspective:
- 58g carbs = approximately 4 slices of whole wheat bread
- 78g carbs = approximately 5.5 slices of whole wheat bread
- A can of soda has 39g carbs
The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend that carbohydrates make up 45-65% of daily calories. On a 2,000 calorie diet, that is 225-325g of carbs per day. A food court chicken bake provides 24-35% of that daily range in a single item.
The sugar content is relatively low. Both versions have 6-7g of sugar, about half of which is added sugar. The frozen version contains 2g added sugar . The remainder comes from the dough (starches convert to sugars during digestion) and the Caesar dressing.
For people with diabetes or prediabetes, the carbohydrate load matters. A food court chicken bake (78g carbs) would require significant insulin or medication adjustment. The frozen version (58g carbs) is still high but more manageable.
Key Takeaway: The food court chicken bake has 78g carbs; the frozen has 58g carbs. Both are high carbohydrate items. People with diabetes should account for these counts in their meal planning.
Costco Chicken Bake Frozen vs Food Court
The differences between the frozen and food court chicken bakes go beyond nutrition. The two products have distinct ingredients, sizes, and preparation methods.
Comparison table: Frozen vs Food Court Chicken Bake
| Feature | Frozen (Kirkland Signature) | Food Court (Hot Prepared) |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 227g | 363g |
| Calories | 540 | 769-770 |
| Protein | 35g | 61g |
| Fat | 19g | 25g |
| Saturated Fat | 6g | 9g |
| Trans Fat | 0g | 0.5g |
| Sodium | 1,370mg | 2,310mg |
| Carbs | 58g | 78g |
| Fiber | 3g | 2g |
| Green onions | Yes | No |
| Crust style | Denser, pot pie style | Crispier, pizza dough style |
| Parmesan topping | Moderate | More browned |
| Cost per bake (2025) | $2.27 (when bought in 6-pack) | $3.99 |
Data from FatSecret, Eat This Much, and Chowhound .
The frozen version contains green onions, which the food court version does not . The frozen crust is denser and more reminiscent of a chicken pot pie top, while the food court crust is crispier and more like pizza dough.
The size difference is substantial. The food court version is 60% heavier (363g vs 227g). This explains most of the calorie and nutrient differences. The frozen version is simply a smaller product.
Which one should you choose?
Choose frozen if you want lower calories (540 vs 770), lower sodium (1,370mg vs 2,310mg), no trans fat, and the ability to cook at home. Choose food court if you want convenience, a crispier crust, higher protein (61g), and don’t mind the higher sodium.
Key Takeaway: The frozen chicken bake is smaller, has no trans fat, and contains green onions. The food court version is larger, crispier, and has 2,310mg sodium. Choose based on your nutritional priorities.
Costco Chicken Bake Ingredients
Understanding the ingredients helps explain the nutrition numbers. The chicken bake contains multiple components that contribute to its calorie, fat, and sodium content.
Frozen Chicken Bake ingredients (Kirkland Signature):
- Dough (enriched wheat flour, water, palm oil, sugar, yeast, salt)
- Cooked chicken breast with rib meat
- Caesar dressing (soybean oil, water, Parmesan cheese, egg yolks, garlic, salt, spices)
- Mozzarella cheese
- Bacon bits (cured with water, salt, sodium phosphates, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite)
- Green onions
- Parmesan cheese topping
Food Court Chicken Bake ingredients (similar, but):
- No green onions
- May contain additional preservatives
- Similar dough and filling components
Source: Ingredient lists from product packaging and Chowhound analysis .
The Caesar dressing contains egg yolks (allergen) and multiple preservatives. The bacon bits contain sodium nitrite, a curing agent. Some consumers may wish to avoid nitrites due to potential health concerns.
The dough contains palm oil, a saturated fat source. Environmental and health concerns around palm oil exist, though it is generally recognized as safe by the FDA.
The chicken is likely brined or injected with a solution containing sodium phosphates to retain moisture during cooking. A recent lawsuit alleged that Costco’s rotisserie chicken contains sodium phosphate and carrageenan as preservatives, despite “no preservatives” marketing . The chicken bake likely contains similar ingredients.
Allergen information:
- Contains wheat (dough)
- Contains milk (mozzarella, Parmesan)
- Contains eggs (Caesar dressing)
- May contain soy (dressing ingredients)
- Bacon contains nitrites (not an allergen but a sensitivity concern for some)
Key Takeaway: The chicken bake contains multiple processed ingredients including cured bacon (with nitrites), Caesar dressing (with egg), and dough (with palm oil). Homemade versions allow control over these ingredients.
Frequently Asked Questions About Costco Chicken Bake
How many calories are in a Costco chicken bake?
A frozen Kirkland Signature chicken bake contains 540 calories. A hot food court chicken bake contains 769-770 calories. The difference comes from serving size and preparation method . The food court version is 60% larger by weight.
Is the Costco chicken bake healthy?
The Costco chicken bake is not considered a health food due to its high sodium, saturated fat, and calorie content. The food court version contains an entire day’s worth of sodium (2,310mg) and 9g saturated fat (45% DV). The frozen version is healthier with 540 calories and 1,370mg sodium. A registered dietitian quoted in a Chinese publication noted that while it has more protein than pizza or hot dogs, the sodium is concerning .
How much sodium is in a Costco chicken bake?
The food court chicken bake contains 2,310mg of sodium, which is 100% of the recommended daily limit . The frozen chicken bake contains 1,370mg of sodium, which is 60% of the daily limit . People with high blood pressure or heart disease should avoid the food court version.
Which has fewer calories: frozen or food court chicken bake?
The frozen Kirkland Signature chicken bake has significantly fewer calories at 540 per bake. The food court version has 769-770 calories per bake . The frozen version is also 136g lighter (227g vs 363g). Choosing frozen saves approximately 230 calories per serving.
Does Costco chicken bake have trans fat?
The food court chicken bake contains 0.5g of trans fat per serving . The frozen Kirkland Signature version contains 0g trans fat . The American Heart Association recommends avoiding trans fats entirely, as they raise LDL (bad) cholesterol and lower HDL (good) cholesterol.
Can I eat a Costco chicken bake on a diet?
You can eat a frozen chicken bake (540 calories) on a weight loss diet if you account for the calories within your daily budget. The food court chicken bake (770 calories) is harder to fit into a typical 1,500-1,800 calorie weight loss diet because it uses nearly half the daily budget. For both versions, the high sodium is a separate concern regardless of calorie counting.
The Costco chicken bake is a satisfying, protein heavy comfort food, but the nutrition numbers tell a clear story about trade offs. The food court version delivers 61g of protein and 400mg of calcium, but at the cost of 770 calories and an entire day’s worth of sodium (2,310mg). The frozen version is significantly better: 540 calories, 35g protein, and 1,370mg sodium, with no trans fat.
Here is what you actually need to know before your next Costco trip. If you want a chicken bake, buy the frozen Kirkland Signature version from the freezer aisle. Cook it at home in an air fryer or oven. You will save 230 calories, avoid trans fat, and reduce sodium by nearly 1,000mg compared to the food court. If you absolutely must have a hot food court chicken bake, split it with someone or eat only half. Your heart and your blood pressure will thank you.







